Verdi: Simon Boccanegra (Blu-Ray) – Luca Salsi, René Pape

Price: $45.00 Members: $40.50


Buy Online and Pick-Up In-Store

You can order online and pick up in-person at our shop at Lincoln Center.

Add your items to the shopping cart, log in, and check out. When completing your order, choose "BUY AND PICK UP IN STORE" located next to the shipping address.

You will receive a confirmation email once your order is placed and a separate email notification once your order is ready to be picked up.

Most orders will be processed on the next day.

Once processed, you will have ten business days to pick up your order.

Add to Wish List

Item: 814337017651


Verdi: Simon Boccanegra (Blu-Ray) – Luca Salsi, René Pape

Composer: Giuseppe Verdi
Artists: Luca Salsi, Marina Rebeka, René Pape, Charles Castronovo, André Heyboer, Antonio di Matteo, Long Long, Marianne Sattmann, Konzertvereinigung Wiener Staatsopernchor, Wiener Philharmoniker
Conductor: Valery Gergiev
Directors: Andreas Kriegenburg
Format: NTSC
Language: Italian
Subtitles: English, German, French, Italian, Korean, Japanese
Dubbed: None
Region: All Regions
Number of Discs: 1
Studio: Unitel Edition
Blu-Ray Release Date: June 5, 2020
Run Time: 142 minutes

Verdi’s masterpiece Simon Boccanegra is presented in a “clear and levelheaded” (The New York Times) staging by Andreas Kriegenburg from the Salzburg Festival. The tragedy of the corsair who becomes Doge of Genoa and is poisoned shortly after having found his lost daughter is conducted by Valery Gergiev, “makes for gorgeously beautiful tone colors” (Der Kurier). The excellent cast includes Luca Salsi (“Italy’s finest baritone today,” Financial Times) in the title role, René Pape (“in sumptuous voice,” Financial Times) as his contrahent Fiesco, as well as Marina Rebeka and Charles Castronovo as the loving couple Amelia and Adorno who together “create islands of bliss in duet and action” (Neue Zürcher Zeitung).

Valery Gergiev provides for an excellent musical realization: “The Wiener Philharmoniker seemed to have virtually conspired with the conductor and the work, shining into every hidden sound angle, playing out all their sovereignty and opera experience” (Süddeutsche Zeitung).

Read More

starstarstarstarstar Write the first review

No reviews have been written for this product.
Be the first one!  – Write a Review

(0) CART 212.501.3482
Discover Special Savings in Every Category - Shop Now Discover Special Savings in Every Category - Shop Now

Stay in the Loop

Don't miss out on new arrivals, exclusive sales, special events, and more.

close (X)