Tchaikovsky: The Enchantress (2-DVD)

Price: $36.00 Members: $32.40

Out of Stock

Item: 747313576852


Tchaikovsky: The Enchantress (2-DVD)

Composer: Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky
Artists: Asmik Grigorian, Iain MacNeil, Claudia Mahnke, Alexander Mikhailov, Frederic Jost, Zanda Švede, Chor der Oper Frankfurt, Frankfurter Opern- und Museumsorchester
Conductor: Valentin Uryupin
Director: Vasily Barkhatov
Video Format: NTSC 16:9
Sound Format: PCM Stereo / DTS 5.1
Region: All Regions
Language: Russian
Subtitles: English, German, French, Spanish, Japanese, Korean
Number of Discs: 1
Studio: Naxos
Release Date: April 26, 2024
Run Time: 203 minutes

Originally set in the 15th century, Tchaikovsky’s The Enchantress is updated to the present day in this innovative production. The charismatic, emancipated Nastasya, who rejects the advances of the devious Mamïrov, duly faces the implacable forces of traditional values in a society riven by divisions between liberal freedoms and religious orthodoxies. The tragic outcome engulfs everyone. 

This production was a triumphant success – “At the end, storms of enthusiasm, the likes of which are rare even at Oper Frankfurt” (Neue Musikzeitung) – both for the staging and performers, with soprano Asmik Grigorian hailed as a “miracle” and baritone Iain MacNeil as “world class.”

Read More

starstarstarstarstar Write the first review

No reviews have been written for this product.
Be the first one!  – Write a Review

(0) CART 212.501.3482
Memorial Day Savings: Enjoy 25% Off Sitewide - Shop Now Memorial Day Savings: Enjoy 25% Off Sitewide - Shop Now

Stay in the Loop

Don't miss out on new arrivals, exclusive sales, special events, and more.

close (X)