Monteverdi: Vespro della Beata Vergine (DVD) – Pygmalion Ensemble

Price: $33.00 Members: $29.70


Buy Online and Pick-Up In-Store

You can order online and pick up in-person at our shop at Lincoln Center.

Add your items to the shopping cart, log in, and check out. When completing your order, choose "BUY AND PICK UP IN STORE" located next to the shipping address.

You will receive a confirmation email once your order is placed and a separate email notification once your order is ready to be picked up.

Most orders will be processed on the next day.

Once processed, you will have ten business days to pick up your order.

Add to Wish List

Item: 3770011431212


Monteverdi: Vespro della Beata Vergine (DVD) – Pygmalion Ensemble

Composer: Claudio Monteverdi
Artists: Lea Desandre, Eva Zaïcik, Lucile Richardot, Emiliano Gonzales Toro, Zachary Wilder, Olivier Coiffet, Nicolas Brooymans, Renaud Bres, Geoffroy Buffiere, Pygmalion Choir & Orchestra
Conductor: Raphaël Pichon
Format: NTSC
Language: Italian
Subtitles: French, German, English
Region: All Regions
Number of Discs: 1
Studio: Chateau Versailles
DVD Release Date: February 14, 2020
Run Time: 117 minutes

The first masterpiece of sacred music is undoubtedly the mythical Vespers of Monteverdi, first published in Venice in 1610. Quintessential of the great Italian polychoral style of writing, with its choirs initially distributed throughout the entire expanse of the Basilica San Marco to spectacular effect, the Vespers are here raised to the heavenly spheres by Raphaël Pichon. Every aspect of the Royal Chapel of Versailles is being put to use to magnify the music echoing from the Royal Tribune to the Great Organ. The Pygmalion choir and orchestra stands flawless, the soloists are overwhelming, and the emotional power released by this interpretation set in space and light is stunning: its beauty seems never ending. The choral monumental piece by Monteverdi, which crystallizes the height of the baroque, meets the highest standards defended by Raphaël Pichon. To be more intimate with God than ever before...

Read More


Music Notes

Most Western music is based on a system of notation that evolved around 1600 out of earlier practices. The starting point for any opera is the full score, which contains all individual voices and instruments arranged in a specific order on the page. The written music—representing the sounds a composer creates in his head—then comes to life performed by singers onstage and played by the orchestra.



starstarstarstarstar Write the first review

No reviews have been written for this product.
Be the first one!  – Write a Review

(0) CART 212.501.3482
Discover Special Savings in Every Category - Shop Now Discover Special Savings in Every Category - Shop Now

Stay in the Loop

Don't miss out on new arrivals, exclusive sales, special events, and more.

close (X)