Debussy: Pelléas et Mélisande (DVD) – Jacques Imbrailo, Michaela Selinger

Price: $30.00 Members: $27.00


Buy Online and Pick-Up In-Store

You can order online and pick up in-person at our shop at Lincoln Center.

Add your items to the shopping cart, log in, and check out. When completing your order, choose "BUY AND PICK UP IN STORE" located next to the shipping address.

You will receive a confirmation email once your order is placed and a separate email notification once your order is ready to be picked up.

Most orders will be processed on the next day.

Once processed, you will have ten business days to pick up your order.

Add to Wish List

Item: 807280168693


Debussy: Pelléas et Mélisande (DVD) – Jacques Imbrailo, Michaela Selinger

Composer: Claude Debussy
Artists: Jacques Imbrailo, Michaela Selinger, Vincent Le Texier, Doris Soffel, Wolfgang Schöne, Dominik Eberle, Mateusz Kabala, Essener Philharmoniker, Opernchor des Aalto-Theaters
Conductor: Stefan Soltesz
Director: Nikolaus Lehnhoff
Format: NTSC
Language: French
Subtitles: French, German, English, Spanish, Italian, Korean
Region: All Regions
Number of Discs: 1
Studio: ArtHaus Musik
DVD Release Date: October 29, 2013
Run Time: 151 minutes

Staged in Essen’s Aalto Theatre, this pioneering work of early modern times was a landmark. The consummately precise staging by veteran stage director Nikolaus Lehnhoff has a cast to match its wondrous sounds. The characters seem to float through the scenes, bringing to the stage the unspeakable, the negation and extinction of their feelings, showing the people of this story in inescapable solitude. This production stars the young South African baritone Jacques Imbrailo as Pelléas and Michaela Selinger as Mélisande, as well as Vincent Le Texier and Doris Soffel.

“This exceptional production achieves...what actually can only be understood as magic.” (Die Welt)

“The actual sensation however is the classic, cold splendor coming from the stage setting and the character direction that allows only one kind of reaction: catharsis, heartache.” (Frankfurter Allgemeine Sonntagszeitung)


Read More


Pelléas et Mélisande

Composed in 1895, Pelléas et Mélisande is the only opera Claude Debussy ever completed. It is considered a landmark in 20th-century music.

Performed in five acts, the story is about the love triangle between Prince Golaud, Mélisande, a mysterious young woman lost in a forest whom he marries and Golaud’s younger half-brother Pelléas, who has a passionate relationship with Mélisande. In the end this is a classic tale of love, betrayal and death.

Set in the mythical kingdom of Allemonde, the era is not indicated, but the ambience of the story is medieval, more suggestive than specific.

It premiered at the Opéra-Comique in Paris on April 30,1902, was performed at the Met in 2011 then returned almost a decade later in its 2018–19 season.


starstarstarstarstar Write the first review

No reviews have been written for this product.
Be the first one!  – Write a Review

(0) CART 212.501.3482
Presidents' Day Sale - Up to 50% Off - Shop Now Presidents' Day Sale - Up to 50% Off - Shop Now

Stay in the Loop

Don't miss out on new arrivals, exclusive sales, special events, and more.

close (X)