The Cranky Ballerina (Hardcover)

Price: $17.99 Members: $16.19

In-Stock
Add to Cart PICK UP IN STORE - LEARN MORE

Buy Online and Pick-Up In-Store

You can order online and pick up in-person at our shop at Lincoln Center.

Add your items to the shopping cart, log in, and check out. When completing your order, choose "BUY AND PICK UP IN STORE" located next to the shipping address.

You will receive a confirmation email once your order is placed and a separate email notification once your order is ready to be picked up.

Most orders will be processed on the same day.

Once processed, you will have three business days to pick up your order.

Add to Wish List

Item: 9780062351241

Description

The Cranky Ballerina (Hardcover)
By Elise Gravel

Ada hates everything about ballet class, yet she still has to go! Arabesques? Grotesque! And then one Saturday, Ada pliés right out the door and into the hallway, smacking into someone who thinks her ungraceful moves are great!

In the tradition of Kevin Henkes’s Lilly books and Russell and Lillian Hoban’s Frances classics, Ada is a plucky little kid with her own way of thinking. Through Ada’s stubbornness and emotional honesty, author/illustrator Elise Gravel shows her understanding of how kids feel and why. She shows us that anger is normal and feeling our emotions leads to growth! This short, funny, energetic book—full of word bubbles that enhance visual literacy and Gravel’s signature vibrant illustrations—is a great choice for both reading aloud and reading independently for emergent readers.

Children who love ballet—and definitely those who don’t—will delight in this clever, subversive tale about a kid who has to do what she doesn’t like in order to discover what she loves.

  • Hardcover: 32 pages
  • Publisher: Harper Collins (August 9, 2016)
  • Product Dimensions: 9” W x 0.2” D x 9” H
  • Ages: 4 – 8 years

 



Read More

History

Ballet

In classic or contemporary ballet, dancing may tell a story, express a mood, or simply reflect the music in movement. Ballet as part of staged performances originated in the Italian Renaissance courts of the 15th and 16th centuries and from there spread to France. The creation of classical ballet as we know it today occurred during the reign of the art-loving French king Louis XIV in the mid-17th century. During the Romantic era, ballet technique evolved to express new ideas, most notably with women dancing en point, or on their toes, allowing them to appear weightless and otherworldly.
 
Among the choreographers who helped bring ballet into the modern age by exploring new visual and dramatic styles are George Balanchine, Antony Tudor and—bridging the worlds of classical dance and Broadway—Agnes de Mille and Jerome Robbins.

 

 

starstarstarstarstar Write the first review

No reviews have been written for this product.
Be the first one!  – Write a Review


(0) CART 212.501.3482
Free Shipping with $125* Purchase Restrictions Apply Free Shipping with $125* Purchase Restrictions Apply

Stay in the Loop

Don't miss out on new arrivals, exclusive sales, special events, and more.

close (X)