Tchaikovsky: Pique Dame (2-DVD) - Dutch National Opera

Price: $47.00 Members: $42.30


Item: 814337014391


Tchaikovsky: Pique Dame (2-DVD) - Dutch National Opera

Composer: Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky
Artist: Misha Didyk, Alexey Markov, Vladimir Stoyanov, Svetlana Aksenova, Larissa Diadkova, Andrei Popov, Andrii Goniukov, Mikhail Makarov, Anatoli Sivko, Anna Goryachova, The Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, Chorus of the Dutch National Opera, Nieuw Amsterdams Kinderkoor
Conductor: Mariss Jansons
Directors: Stefan Herheim
Format: NTSC
Language: Russian
Subtitles: Russian, English, French, German, Korean, Japanese
Region: All Regions
Aspect Ratio: 1.78:1
Number of Discs: 2
Studio: C Major Entertainment
DVD Release Date: January 26, 2018
Run Time: 181 minutes

Mariss Jansons returns to Amsterdam to conduct Pique Dame at the Dutch National Opera with his Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra. He encounters a noteworthy cast, and under his baton the orchestra sounds “brilliant and splendid” (Der Tagesspiegel). Renowned director Stefan Herheim stages Tchaikovsky’s much-loved opera about a young man who, for the prospect of earthly wealth, gambles away his chance for love and happiness. Herheim, whose stagings are famous for their multi-layered interpretation, attempts to reflect on the composer’s hidden love for men.

“The Latvian maestro, the intriguingly performing orchestra, the smartly-chosen soloists, and director Stefan Herheim have succeeded in staging an extraordinary production.” (Die Presse)

“Stefan Herheim makes a great picture show out of Tchaikovsky’s Pique Dame.” (NMZ)

“A masterpiece.” (Der Standard)

Read More

starstarstarstarstar Write the first review

No reviews have been written for this product.
Be the first one!  – Write a Review

(0) CART 212.501.3482
Discover Special Savings in Every Category - Shop Now Discover Special Savings in Every Category - Shop Now

Stay in the Loop

Don't miss out on new arrivals, exclusive sales, special events, and more.

close (X)