Tannhäuser (DVD) - Bayreuther Festspiele

Price: $40.00 Members: $36.00

Out of Stock

Item: 1000008296


Tannhäuser (DVD) - Bayreuther Festspiele
Composer: Richard Wagner
Conductor: Colin Davis
Release Date: 8/12/2008
Gwyneth Jones
Bernd Weikl
Spas Wenkoff
Robert Schunk
Franz Mazura
Chorus and Orchestra: Bayreuther Festspiele

Read More



World premiere: Court Opera, Dresden, 1845. Premiere of revised version: Opéra, Paris, 1861.

History, myth, and invention come together in Tannhäuser to create a unique and powerful drama. The title character was a real 13th-century Minnesinger who inspired a legend that Wagner used as the basis for the opera. He notably added the character of Elisabeth, based on the historical Saint Elisabeth of Hungary, wife of the Landgrave of Thuringia. The opera’s score went through several revisions after the original performances, most importantly when Wagner added the Venusberg ballet for the 1861 French premiere.


starstarstarstarstar Write the first review

No reviews have been written for this product.
Be the first one!  – Write a Review

(0) CART 212.501.3482
Discover Special Savings in Every Category - Shop Now Discover Special Savings in Every Category - Shop Now

Stay in the Loop

Don't miss out on new arrivals, exclusive sales, special events, and more.

close (X)