Stravinsky: The Rake’s Progress (Blu-Ray) – Robert Lepage

Price: $46.00 / $32.20 Members: $28.98


Item: 1000005603


Stravinsky: The Rake’s Progress (Blu-Ray) – Robert Lepage

Composer: Igor Stravinsky
Artists: Laura Claycomb, Andrew Kennedy, William Shimell, Julianne Young, Dagmar Peckova, Darren Jeffery, Donal J. Byrne, Shadi Torbey, Symphony Orchestra & Chorus of La Monnaie – De Munt, Brussels
Conductor: Kazushi Ono
Director: Robert Lepage
Format: Blu-Ray
Language: English
Subtitles: English, French, German, Spanish, Italian, Dutch
Region: All Regions
Aspect Ratio: 1.78:1
Number of Discs: 1
Studio: Opus Arte
Blu-Ray Release Date: September 29, 2009
Run Time: 174 minutes

Stravinsky’s masterwork The Rake’s Progress, created for La Fenice in Venice in 1951, is based on a libretto by W.H. Auden and Chester Kallman, inspired by a series of 18th century prints by William Hogarth. This amazing production from La Monnaie - De Munt “jazzifies” the setting by replacing Hogarth’s sin city, London, with 1950s Las Vegas, turning it into a glittering, cinematic gallery of tableaux vivants inspired by the early days of television. Staged by one of the most visionary theatre directors of our age, the Québécois Robert Lepage, the neo-classical morality tale truly becomes a grand spectacle. Lepage’s visual imagination works its magic superbly, while Kazushi Ono’s energetic musical direction drives the sparkling ensemble to exhilarating heights.

Read More

starstarstarstarstar Write the first review

No reviews have been written for this product.
Be the first one!  – Write a Review

(0) CART 212.799.3100 x2399
Discover Special Savings in Every Category Shop Now Discover Special Savings in Every Category Shop Now

Stay in the Loop

Don't miss out on new arrivals, exclusive sales, special events, and more.

close (X)