CONTACT US(212) 501-3482

ONLINE MUSIC SALE - 3 Days Only - 20% Off Select DVDs, CDs, and Blu-rays


Home / CDs / Compilations / Shostakovich Edition (51 CD) (Item# 5029365924528 )

Shostakovich Edition (51 CD)

Item# 5029365924528

Shostakovich Edition (51 CD)
Composer: Dmitri Shostakovich
Release Date: November 13, 2012
Label: Brilliant

This 51-CD box set presents the most comprehensive collection ever compiled of the work of Dmitri Shostakovich, one of Russia’s most fascinating composers. Several unique historical recordings are heard, including performances by Shostakovich himself, who was a superb pianist.

Also included are performances by Rudolf Barshai (a close friend of Shostakovich), David Oistrakh, Evgeny Mravinsky, Gennadi Rozhdestvensky, and Kyrill Kondrashin. The majority of performers and performances are Russian in origin, including the famous recording of Lady Macbeth sung by Galina Vishnevskaya and conducted by her husband, Mstislav Rostropovich.

Album Summary:

• Symphonies
• Chamber Symphonies
• Piano Concertos
• Cello Concertos
• String Quartets
• Piano Quintet
• Piano Trio
• Sonatas for Violin, Viola, Cello and Piano
• Works for Solo Piano
• Songs
• Michelangelo Suite
• Choral Works
• Jazz Suites
• Film Suites
• Ballet Suites
• Film Scores
• The Lady and the Hooligan
• Rothschild’s Violin
• The Gamblers
• Lady Macbeth of the Mtsensky District
• Violin Concerto

You might also like......