Prokofiev: The Fiery Angel (DVD)

Price: $26.00 Members: $23.40


Item: 747313566358


Prokofiev: The Fiery Angel (DVD)

Composer: Sergey Prokofiev
Artists: Leigh Melrose, Ewa Vesin, Anna Victorova, Maxim Paster, Orchestra e Coro del Teatro dell’Opera di Roma
Conductor: Alejo Pérez
Director: Emma Dante
Format: NTSC
Language: Russian
Subtitles: English, Italian, German, Japanese, Korean
Region: All Regions
Number of Discs: 1
Studio: Naxos
DVD Release Date: January 8, 2021
Run Time: 133 minutes

Sergey Prokofiev’s operatic tragedy The Fiery Angel was never performed in the composer’s lifetime – the music’s brittle energy, drama and eloquent lyrical tenderness would re-emerge in his Third Symphony. The narrative focuses relentlessly on Renata, who is haunted by an angel who turns out to be the devil. Director Emma Dante describes the opera as “an explosive mix of fantastical realism and endless confusion of nightmares, madness, sexual impulses and cultural clashes,” and this Teatro dell’Opera di Roma production was acclaimed as “a presentation of Prokofiev’s masterpiece which sparkles in all its grotesque glory” (

Read More

starstarstarstarstar Write the first review

No reviews have been written for this product.
Be the first one!  – Write a Review

(0) CART 212.501.3482
Discover Special Savings in Every Category Shop Now Discover Special Savings in Every Category Shop Now

Stay in the Loop

Don't miss out on new arrivals, exclusive sales, special events, and more.

close (X)