Prokofiev: Semyon Kotko (DVD+Blu-Ray) – Viktor Lutsyuk, Tatiana Pavlovskaya

Price: $43.00 / $30.10 Members: $27.09


Item: 822231859222


Prokofiev: Semyon Kotko (DVD+Blu-Ray) – Viktor Lutsyuk, Tatiana Pavlovskaya

Composer: Sergei Prokofiev
Artists: Tatiana Pavlovskaya, Gennady Bezzubenkov, Varvara Solovyova, Evgeny Nikitin, Roman Burdenko, Viktor Lutsyuk, Stanislav Leontyev, Olga Sergeeva, Mariinsky Orchestra & Chorus
Conductor: Valery Gergiev
Director: Yuri Alexandrov
Format: NTSC
Language: Russian (English menus)
Subtitles: German, English, French, Spanish, Russian, Japanese
Region: All Regions
Number of Discs: 2
Studio: Mariinsky
DVD Release Date: September 9, 2016
Run Time: 148 minutes

Marking the 125th anniversary of his birth, Prokofiev’s Semyon Kotko is given an outstanding performance here by a fine cast, conducted by Valery Gergiev, who is widely regarded as one of Prokofiev’s greatest interpreters.

Set during 1918, in a post-Bolshevik Revolution climate, Semyon Kotko is a story of love, war, and resistance, Althouh lesser-known than Prokofiev’s other operas, such as War and Peace and Betrothal in a Monastery, Semyon Kotko is nevertheless a raw, thrilling, and utterly engrossing work.

“Valery Gergiev is a born Prokofiev interpreter.” (The Guardian)

“Viktor Lutsyuk has everything required for the part: the right voice, plenty of panache and lots of presence.” (The Moscow Times)

“Viktor Lutsyuk sang with bright-eyed enthusiasm as the model hero Semyon, and Tatiana Pavlovskaya was in captivating form as Sofia.” (The New York Times)


Read More

starstarstarstarstar Write the first review

No reviews have been written for this product.
Be the first one!  – Write a Review

(0) CART 212.501.3482
Up to 50% Off Select Jewelry - Shop Now Up to 50% Off Select Jewelry - Shop Now

Stay in the Loop

Don't miss out on new arrivals, exclusive sales, special events, and more.

close (X)