Madama Butterfly (Opera Explained CD)

Price: $13.00 / $12.09 Members: $10.88


Item: 636943804926


Madama Butterfly (Opera Explained CD)
by Thomson Smillie (Author), David Timson (Narrator)
Series: Opera Explained
Label: Naxos

An introduction to Puccini`s opera, which is suitable for music-lovers as well as the most intellectual listener.

Track Listing
1    Introduction    00:08:46    Timson, David
2    Act I    00:05:46    Timson, David
3    Sharpless counsels caution    00:04:59    Timson, David
4    Introduction and Entrance of Butterfly    00:06:40    Timson, David
5    The Wedding Ceremony    00:03:18    Timson, David
6    Butterfly and Pinkerton    00:03:59    Timson, David
7    End of Act I    00:03:25    Timson, David
8    Act II - Introduction and 'Un bel di'    00:06:24    Timson, David
9    Sharpless and Butterfly    00:02:59    Timson, David
10    Butterfly's son    00:04:25    Timson, David
11    The return of Pinkerton    00:03:37    Timson, David
12    Waiting for Pinkerton - The Humming Chorus    00:05:35    Timson, David
13    Butterfly's suicide    00:05:34    Timson, David

Read More


Puccini’s original version of Madama Butterfly premiered at Milan’s Teatro alla Scala in 1904. The composer was inspired to write an opera about a tragic love between a young Japanese geisha and an American Navy officer after seeing David Belasco’s play by the same name performed in London in June 1900. Puccini’s score includes many Japanese folk melodies, and is one of his most sweeping and sophisticated. It remains one of the world’s most popular operas.

starstarstarstarstar Write the first review

No reviews have been written for this product.
Be the first one!  – Write a Review

(0) CART 212.501.3482
Discover Special Savings in Every Category Shop Now Discover Special Savings in Every Category Shop Now

Stay in the Loop

Don't miss out on new arrivals, exclusive sales, special events, and more.

close (X)