Lehár: The Merry Widow (DVD) – Joan Sutherland, Ron Stevens

Price: $30.00 / $21.00 Members: $18.90

Out of Stock

Item: 032031000599


Lehár: The Merry Widow (DVD) – Joan Sutherland, Ron Stevens

Composer: Franz Lehár
Artists: Joan Sutherland, Ron Stevens, Anne-Maree McDonald, Anson Austin, Gordon Wilcock, Graeme Ewer, The Australian Opera Chorus & Ballet, Elizabethan Philharmonic Orchestra
Conductor: Richard Bonynge
Director: Lotfi Mansouri
Format: NTSC
Language: English
Subtitles: n/a
Region: Region 1 (U.S. and Canada DVD players only)
Number of Discs: 1
Studio: Kultur Video
DVD Release Date: November 20, 2001
Run Time: 155 minutes

Turn of the century Paris provides the glittering setting for Franz Lehár’s immortal operetta, first performed in Vienna in 1905 and here given by the Australian Opera in the English version by Christopher Hassell, with Joan Sutherland as widow Anna Glawari. The face of Pontevedro, her native country, hangs perilously on her marriage plans – if she weds a foreigner, the state will lose the benefit of her enormous wealth and will be left bankrupt. An embassy plot to marry her off to the debonair Count Danilo Danilovitch is complicated by the secret affair which has developed between the French attaché, Camile de Rosillon, and the Ambassador’s wife, Valencienne.

Joan Sutherland reveals another facet of her genius in her superb command of the Viennese operetta style; she is an utterly captivating and stylish Anna Glawari. Directed with elegance and a glorious sense of fun by Lotfi Mansouri. The Elizabethan Philharmonic Orchestra is conducted with great aplomb by Richard Bornynge.

Read More

starstarstarstarstar Write the first review

No reviews have been written for this product.
Be the first one!  – Write a Review

(0) CART 212.501.3482
Discover Special Savings in Every Category - Shop Now Discover Special Savings in Every Category - Shop Now

Stay in the Loop

Don't miss out on new arrivals, exclusive sales, special events, and more.

close (X)