CONTACT US(212) 501-3482

Up to 50% Off Select Apparel, Scarves, Gifts, and Music. SHOP NOW


Home / CDs / Classical / Lang Lang: New York Rhapsody (CD) (Item# 889853329229 )

Lang Lang: New York Rhapsody (CD)

Item# 889853329229

Lang Lang: New York Rhapsody (CD)

As it has wowed musicians for over a century, the magic of New York City fired the imagination of superstar pianist Lang Lang who is joined by a one-of-a-kind cast of collaborating artists for the creation of his new album, New York Rhapsody. From the haunting reveries of Gershwin and Copland to the in-the-moment intensity of songs made famous by Alicia Keys, Lou Reed and Don Henley, New York Rhapsody rediscovers the dazzle and the soul of America s most symbolic city as great artists have imagined them.

Lang Lang with Grammy Award®-winning producer Larry Klein have assembled an album that embraces the musical spirit of New York in ways both surprising and traditional. The centerpiece of New York Rhapsody is inevitably Rhapsody in Blue that features Lang Lang and jazz legend Herbie Hancock in a two-piano recreation of Gershwin s most popular work with the London Symphony Orchestra. Surrounding it are creative collaborations with Lang Lang anchoring each track that reimagine songs reflecting the varying moods and experiences New York offers. Other guest artists include Andra Day, Jason Isbell, Jeffrey Wright, Lindsey Stirling, Madeleine Peyroux, Kandace Springs, Sean Jones, Jerry Douglas and Lisa Fischer.

Track Listing:

  1. Story of Our Town (From `Our Town`)
  2. New York Morning
  3. Empire State Of Mind
  4. Rhapsody in Blue
  5. New York Minute
  6. Somewhere (Dirty Blvd.) - Lisa Fischer
  7. Main Theme (From `Spider-Man`) - Lindsey Stirling
  8. Tonight (From `West Side Story`) - Sean Jones
  9. Moon River (From `Breakfast at Tiffany`s`) - Madeleine Peyroux
  10. In Evening Air


You might also like......